Home > NFL > 1st Prime Time Draft

1st Prime Time Draft

In the wake of the first prime time NFL draft, Roger Goodell must be very please with the new format. After a thirty percent viewership increase, it looks like prime time is here to stay. After taking a couple of days to digest the new process I have come up with some things that I like and I didn’t like about the prime time draft.

Just one more thing I like about the draft. Zachary Hatfield gets to announce his favorite team's pick. Zachary was given this opportunity through the Make-A-Wish Foundations. Hopefully he had a great time!

For reference the basic layout went like this:

1st round – Thursday, 7:30 P.M. ET

2nd and 3rd round – Friday, 6:30 P.M. ET

4th-7th round – Saturday, 10 A.M. ET

Likes:

  • The media had a full night to analyze team’s 1st round picks. Because only the first round was held on Thursday night this allowed for the media an entire evening to break down picks, play game footage, talk to coaches, and analyze how these rookies would help their new team
  • This year I can honestly say it was the first time that I gave my attention to the third round. In past years the first two rounds were held on one day and the rest of the draft the next. Most of the time this meant that I didn’t watch, or at least didn’t pay attention to, the third round of the draft because I was not as familiar with many of the subsequent picks. So I would just wait until my team’s draft was over and read about the picks on the team website and in expert’s analysis. This year with the third round of the draft on the same evening as the second I found myself actually watching and paying attention after the second round had ended.
  • Breaking it up into three days gives coaches more time and opportunities to reset their draft boards. I don’t know about everyone else but sometimes I really wonder what coaches and general managers are thinking when they make their decisions. I have always wondered how hard it must be to have to scout and draft so many players when it could very well be that those players are not there anymore. In these cases teams have to rearrange their draft boards. Teams get the best chance to do this at night between rounds. Now, instead of one chance, they get two.

Of course, everything that I like about the new format also are the same things that I didn’t like.

Dislike

  • Waiting a whole day between the first and second round is excruciating. There are still a lot of prominent players that go in the second round. There were a lot of players left that I was really interested in seeing where they went. But that wasn’t the worst part. I wanted to know who else my team was going to pick. Plus I am just thankful that my team had a first round pick. If I had to way until day two of the draft before my team picked, especially if it was because they traded out of the first round, I would go insane.
  • If you are like me, then you don’t get home until around 6 P.M. every day, even on the weekends. (If I am lucky that is) I live in the central standard time zone which means it begins at five and I get to miss an hour of the second round. People in time zones further east have to watch it even earlier in their day. I understand that the NFL wants to get both the 2nd and 3rd rounds in at a manageable time but that doesn’t mean it is not going to annoy me to the point where I complain about it on my blog!

With those reasons in mind I can say that if I was Roger Goodell I would privately think that none of those things matter. What matters is that there was a thirty percent increase in fans watching. That is

Categories: NFL
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

